Not pretty enough..

giphy

My alarm went off at 08:30 hours in the morning, it was time to go! Clad in a black pair of linen pants and an off-white chiffon blouse, I majestically took my first step to what would be my very first student job interview and hopefully job placement.  Beyond the culture and trends in Europe, working while pursuing education in higher institutions of learning or during school breaks is a must do. Even so, home office considers side hustles, I mean, why would they grant foreign students 20 hours of work every week during school term and freedom to work full time during school break?

The fresh spring breeze brushed gently over my face, as I paced through the walk ways to the bus station. My mind filled with thoughts of what savings from this job could do for me. The bus pulled up just in time for me to get in first. I quickly handed the bus driver four pounds (4£) for a day ticket and took the first seat right behind the driver’s cabin. I could hear my own heart beat like the African Ngoma drum.

Six bus stops later, it was my turn to alight. With my phone in hand, I stepped out and followed the GPS coordinates to the interview venue. The room was filled with young people and like you would guess, they were preoccupied with their phones and some, chatting with those they knew. I took a seat in a far-off corner and silently recited answers to what I hoped would be some of the interview questions.

A gentleman stood in the hallway and called out my name. From the accent, I could tell that he was a brother from the western part of Africa. I picked up my bag and walked down the hallway to the interview room, it was my turn to shine. Like the smart and intelligent woman that I am, I confidently answered the questions I was asked. The panellists seemed impressed with what they heard and soon wrapped up the interview with “thank you for coming through, we shall be in touch”. With a bright smile, I walked out of the interview celebrating my latest achievement, a student job placement.

I stood in the hallway behind the half way shut door, impatiently searching through my bag for my phone, an update was in order. I could clearly hear the voices in the interview room arguing over scores. My curiosity overshadowed my mother’s long-standing principle taught to us “thou shalt not eavesdrop”. I stood still and listened to these masculine voices commend my smart brain. The conversation continued with reasons why I deserved a spot, and, on several occasions, I caught myself nodding to some of the points these gentlemen noted.

While I was still lost in the possibilities that were soon becoming my reality, I heard one comment that brutally shook me back to my senses. “.. she is smart and pretty, but not pretty enough, besides she is a little too curvy”, one gentleman said.  I saw the opportunity that had kept me excited for days slip through my hands, as this gentleman continued to talk about my body. Despite my knowledge, excellent skills, eloquence and confidence exhibited, my qualification for this job had just been reduced to my looks, my body and my skin complexion.

A million questions ran through my mind as I walked back to the bus station. I wondered whether the male interviewees were scrutinised in the same way I was, or perhaps, this was a criterion for the females. I thought about thousands of women all over the world who have and continue to face similar challenges at places of work, school or positions of leadership.

Even with such bold gender achievements, women are still less likely to compete fairly and have access to opportunities as our male counterparts. We are labelled and our strengths and abilities placed on weighing scales from the very day we are born. She can’t out smart you, she is a girl, she won’t make a good wife because she doesn’t know how to cook, she is such a horrible mother for choosing work over children, she cannot be a leader because she is not married, to mention but a few.

Our struggle to have our fair share in a world where women out number men is far from over. For long, our efforts have been misconceived, with many viewing women as angry and selfish opponents to men. It’s no surprise that we haven’t realised our vision of full equality.  We all have the power and responsibility to end discrimination of all forms against women and girls, and promote gender parity around the globe, irrespective of of who we are.

I find consolation in the quick wins each time I stumble and continue to strive for freedom, equality and quality dignified lives for the cornerstones of our nations, women!

Author: Precious Mutoru

Leave a comment